International Conference on the

Dynamics of Celestial Bodies

23 – 26 June  2008,  Litohoro – Olympus, Thessaloniki, Greece

In honor of Prof. John D. Hadjidemetriou



Registration is closed since April, 30. 

Participants will get any necessary information by e-mail.

Additional travel information will be posted in this page.

See the Hotel reservation list to confirm your accommodation.

Symbol · indicates new information for participants

MAP of Litohoro : Conference venue and Hotel location

· Programme (pdf) 

· Abstarcts (pdf)

· Poster (pdf)

· Bus Service from airport




Invited Speakers

List of Participants

· Program

· Accommodation

· Travel Information

Prof. J.D. Hadjidemetriou







       On behalf of the LOC, we would like to announce the organization of the conference “Dynamics of Celestial Bodies”, which will be held in honor of Prof. John D. Hadjidemetriou , at the foot of Mt. Olympus.




[ 2nd Announcement ]


Scientific topics

The conference is concerned with Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical systems with applications in Astronomy.  It aims to include treatment of 

  • N-body dynamics with applications in Planetary dynamics,
  • Resonances and periodic orbits,
  • Space Dynamics, 
  • Chaos and Computer Methods for Dynamical Systems,
  • Methods and Tools for Hamiltonian Dynamical Systems and symplectic maps.     



Scientific Organizing Committee


Rudolf Dvorak (Institute of Astronomy, Vienna , Austria)
Sylvio Ferraz-Mello (University of Sao Paulo,  Brazil)
Claude Froeschle (Observatoire de Nice, France)
Jacques Henrard (University of Namur, Belgium)
Zoran Knezevic (Belgrade Astronomical Observatory, Serbia)
Harold Levison (Southwest Research Institute, U.S.A.)
Yi-Sui Sun (Nanjing University, China)
Giovanni Valsecchi (Institute of Astrophysics and Space
, Roma, Italy)


Local  Organizing Committee*


Harry Varvoglis (chair),

George Voyatzis

Kleomenis Tsiganis

Efi Meletlidou

Vassilis Koukouloyannis

Thomas Kotoulas

Fotini Zervaki


Secretarial support by  Maria Vraka


*members of the group of Dynamics and Study of Mechanics in the Section of Astronomy, Astrophysics and Mechanics, Department of Physics,  Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.




Under the auspices of 







Sponsored by


General Secretariat of Research and Technology, GR

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Hellenic Astronomical Society


Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Municipality of Litohoro

Research Committee of AUTh

Prefecture of Pieria

Holy Metropolis of Nea Krini and Kalamaria

Holy Metropolis of  Mesogeas and Lavreotikis


Hellenic Astronomical Society

Department of Physics of  AUTh 

School of Science of AUTH

Parishes of Ag.Nikolaos and Ag. Demetrios of Litohoro

Educational & Cultural Foundation “St. Gregory Palamas”

Section of Astrophysics, Astronomy and Mechanics of AUTH